Hartley Independent School District

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
Welcome to Hartley ISD!!  Follow us on twitter @Hartley_ISD
Departments » Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees

About the Board
The Board of Trustees acts as the school district's policy-making body and is the official representative of the people for all public education in Hartley ISD. The Board functions according to the state and federal laws, the rules and regulations established by the State Board of Education, the Texas Education Agency, and the will of the people as expressed in district elections. Trustees adopt a budget which is necessary to maintain and operate the schools, levy taxes to support the budget, and submit bond issues to the citizens of the district. Trustees represent community expectations as they chart the direction of educational programs and services and establish the standard by which success is measured.

Board Service
The seven member board, while composed of individuals, acts officially only as a group. No member or group of members acts in the name of the Board unless authorized by the Board. A majority of the Board constitutes a quorum for the transaction of business. Individual trustees, serving without pay, are elected for four year terms on a two year rotating basis. Elections are conducted in November.


Current Board Members are:

Wade Lenz, President

J.D. Clark, Vice President

Brenda Skalsky, Secretary

Katie Bellows

Kevin Ford

Mike Thompson

Barbara Thompson



Click here for the School Board Policy


Below, please find other documents and reports: